Yamaha Powersport Forums banner

1 - 4 of 4 Posts

3,003 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
McLaren appeal verdict confirmed.

Friday, 16th November 2007

McLaren appeal fails; Kimi Raikkonen keeps title.

The FIA's International Court of Appeal has rejected McLaren's appeal against the decision not to disqualify the BMW-Sauber and Williams' cars from last month's Brazilian Grand Prix.

The decision means that Kimi Raikkonen has won the 2007 Formula 1 drivers' title, as Lewis Hamilton remains seventh overall in the Brazilian GP race classification and does not move up to gain the additional points needed to overhaul him.

A statement released by the FIA late on Thursday said that the appeal lodged by McLaren was 'inadmissible'.

The full release from the FIA read:

“The FIA International Court of Appeal met in London on Thursday, November 15, 2007, to examine an appeal lodged by the Motor Sports Association (MSA) on behalf of its licence-holder Vodafone McLaren Mercedes against the decision (document 41) of the Panel of the Stewards of the 2007 Brazilian Grand Prix dated 21 October 2007 and counting towards the 2007 FIA Formula One World Championship.

“Following a report from the Technical Delegate indicating that the temperature of fuel pumped into the cars #9 - Nick Heidfeld, #10 - Robert Kubica, #16 - Nico Rosberg and #17 - Kazuki Nakajima, was more than 10 degrees centigrade below ambient temperature, the Stewards of the Meeting met to consider whether a penalty should be imposed.

“Having heard the evidence they decided not to impose a penalty as they had sufficient doubt as to both the temperature of the fuel on board the car and to the true ambient temperature.

“Having heard the explanations of both parties and having examined the various documents and other evidence, the Court decided that the appeal lodged by Vodaphone McLaren Mercedes is inadmissible.

“The International Court of Appeal was presided over by Mr Jan Stovicek (Czech Republic), elected President, and composed of Mr John Cassidy (United States), Mr Vassilis Koussis (Greece) and Mr José Macedo e Cunha (Portugal).”
1 - 4 of 4 Posts