1987 fz-700 problems please help - Yamaha Forum : Your Yamaha Motor Products Community & Resource
FZ's, FZR's, & YZF 750 FZ-600, FZ-700, FZ-750, & YZF-750

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 6 (permalink) Old 06-30-2010, 06:45 PM Thread Starter

1987 fz-700 problems please help

Hello everyone! I am new to motorcycles, and just bought my first bike about a week ago. Unfortunitly i have some issues with my bike. My first issue is that the red wire coming off my altinator is extreamly hot when the bike is running for about 3 mins, maybe not even that long. I cheaked the battery and found that it was no good. So i replaced my battery and the wire is still hot. I havn't gotten around to cheaking the altinator output yet, but i do notice that all the lights are flickering wile the bike is running. So am i correct in saying I need a new alternator? Now my next issue is I cant seem to get the bike to stay running at idle...I have replaced the spark plugs and fuel filter cleaned out the carburators a little bit and ran some seafoam threw the motor. Holy cow what a difference but, it still wants too die after i push the choke in all the way. it will run for 10 seconds and slowly die out everytime. If i hold it in a higher rpm it seems to pur like a kitten with a slight missfire/backfire sound occasonaly. Sometimes when i give it gas for a second the rpms shoot too 4000 and stay thier untill i hit the gas a few times then it will drop back down and die. Anywone have anythoughts? Just so you all know, when i bought this bike thier were really no issues other then it seeming to bog down when you gave it gas. but now that my friends screwed around with the main adjustment on the bike(it bring the idle up and down and connects to all 4 carbs)along with some other screws that i have no clue what they are,when i wasnt around, the bike wont stay runnning and i cant seem to get it back to normal now so any help would be great i am also a mechanic for a honda dealership so